Be Near Me – ABC


ABC

Year: 1985
Artist: ABC
Other Hits: When Smokey Sings, Vanity Kills, The Look of love
Album: How to be a Zillionaire

As per Wikipedia, before the English band ABC, there was Vice Versa and one Martin Fry who was back in the late 70’s interviewing the band for a fanzine Modern Drugs,  Vice Versa asked him to join as synthesizer player, and he accepted, and shortly afterwards the band evolved into ABC, with Martin Fry taking over on vocals. When the group changed its name to ABC they then changed its sound to a polished type of pop music called New Romantic that at that time led them to be categorized with bands like Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet, and The Human League.

I still have recollection of myself watching them on video. Admiring the suit wearing vocalist and stunned by the band’s fondness of cartoon image of themselves thus, seeing it in their video and vinyl albums. But what I remember most was having a classmate named ‘Venir’ and my friends, bombarding her with the chorus of their song “Venir (Be Near) Me, Veniiir…”

I wish I can say more about the band, I just found out they are still active check out their website http://www.abcmartinfry.com/ABC.html.

I kept asking myself ‘what’s with the name?’ and found this quote and it answered my question. Straight from the main man himself— “I wanted a name that would put us first in the phone directory, or second if you count ABBA.“ – Martin Fry

Leave a Reply

